Facebook  Twitter 

SMFHacks.com

+- +-

SMFHacks.com

+- User Information

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?

+- Forum Stats

Members
Total Members: 12369
Latest: Dwaynee
New This Month: 9
New This Week: 2
New Today: 1
Stats
Total Posts: 40207
Total Topics: 7080
Most Online Today: 79
Most Online Ever: 2482
(April 09, 2011, 07:02:45 pm)
Users Online
Members: 2
Guests: 27
Total: 29

Author Topic: 4. Global Headers and Footers  (Read 87517 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline denaon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
    • Foro VoIP Argentina!!
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #30 on: October 02, 2006, 05:41:56 pm »
This mod does not work in 1.0.8, does it?  :-\

BTW, I'm so glad I found you!!! SMFHacks rocks!!!  ;D

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15104
    • View Profile
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #31 on: October 02, 2006, 07:05:08 pm »
Only for SMF 1.1
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline brightstarpro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #32 on: October 30, 2006, 06:35:30 am »
i love this mod, except one thing. it won't allow you to edit the header and footer data you placed. what i means is, i added a banner script to my footer. it works nicely, but when i went into the global header footer today to change the banner, the boxes are empty. you should make this similiar to how proboards works where the data entered remains static so that it can be easily edited. if it is suppose to be like that then i may have something not setup right.

Yeah, same problem for me as well. Was a solution ever found for this?

Offline Nite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Texas Mall
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #33 on: October 30, 2006, 12:51:54 pm »
ftp into your account and edit smfheader.php or smffooter.php directly.

Offline GameSocket

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • NZ Made
    • View Profile
    • GameSocket
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #34 on: October 30, 2006, 02:41:02 pm »
If you are going to do that ya might as well do it to index.template and forget headers and footers mod.
(\__/)
(O.o )   *If You need help, best not to ask me*
(> < )


Offline Nite

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
    • Texas Mall
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #35 on: November 03, 2006, 08:19:19 pm »
Yes, but if that's all you had to do, then this mod would have never been created in the first place. For the sake of ease, there are two files that are descriptively named.

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15104
    • View Profile
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #36 on: November 03, 2006, 08:31:43 pm »
I need to look into that one day not sure what causes that probably some kind of linux path issue that it is not reopening the file.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline Bill White

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #37 on: November 17, 2006, 02:12:34 pm »
Hmm, It shouldn't be empty. It should always load the code that you last entered.

SMFHacks.com

I get the same problem. And maybe this will help to solve it:

When I navigate to index.php?action=globalhf;sesc I get an error message in the error log as follows:

<my name   Today at 01:47:54 PM 
<my IP address>     <my session number> 
http://<mysite.com/smf/index.php?action=globalhf;sesc 
8: Undefined index: sa
File: /.../.../public_html/smf/Sources/globalhf.php
Line: 29

That suggests that, when I go to edit the headers and footers, the routine is unable to successfully execute a line that locates existing data so that it can be pulled and presented for editing. Maybe the code can be adjusted?  :)

Offline Bill White

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #38 on: November 17, 2006, 02:38:44 pm »
I ran into another little problem with Global Headers and Footers. I uninstalled and reinstalled the module. Now any header shows up twice. If I delete the header, nothing shows up, but when I reenter it, it shows up twice again.

Maybe the install enters some code, and the uninstall does not remove it, but removes the data. So then the reinstall enters duplicate code that displays whatever header data a second time. That's my guess.

Offline lplettie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #39 on: November 23, 2006, 10:32:12 pm »
i love this mod, except one thing. it won't allow you to edit the header and footer data you placed. what i means is, i added a banner script to my footer. it works nicely, but when i went into the global header footer today to change the banner, the boxes are empty. you should make this similiar to how proboards works where the data entered remains static so that it can be easily edited. if it is suppose to be like that then i may have something not setup right.

Yeah, same problem for me as well. Was a solution ever found for this?


Hmm, It shouldn't be empty. It should always load the code that you last entered.

SMFHacks.com

I get the same problem. And maybe this will help to solve it:

When I navigate to index.php?action=globalhf;sesc I get an error message in the error log as follows:

<my name   Today at 01:47:54 PM 
<my IP address>     <my session number> 
http://<mysite.com/smf/index.php?action=globalhf;sesc 
8: Undefined index: sa
File: /.../.../public_html/smf/Sources/globalhf.php
Line: 29

That suggests that, when I go to edit the headers and footers, the routine is unable to successfully execute a line that locates existing data so that it can be pulled and presented for editing. Maybe the code can be adjusted?  :)


I also have both problems.  Is there a cure for this yet?

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15104
    • View Profile
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #40 on: November 23, 2006, 11:20:36 pm »
No cure for linux servers.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline buhaychat.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • BuhayCHAT Online Community for Filipino Adult Chatters
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #41 on: December 08, 2006, 11:48:49 pm »
Header for most themes would be located under the menu bar.

Footer is right above the copyright line.

Is there a way we can change the location of the header that instead of beneath the menu bar, the entered header code goes someplace else towards the top of the page, say above all the user info, before any of the table for the board starts?

Thanks in advance...

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15104
    • View Profile
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #42 on: December 09, 2006, 12:05:16 pm »
You would need to edit the location of the code.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline buhaychat.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
    • BuhayCHAT Online Community for Filipino Adult Chatters
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #43 on: December 09, 2006, 02:58:45 pm »
You would need to edit the location of the code.

Thanks for the reply! It's the index.template.php that I should be editing right?

I did try that, but can't seem to have much success; I keep getting template parse errors... Is this the code we'd need to edit/move?

(located in <head> section):

Code: [Select]
// We'll have to use the cookie to remember the header...
if ($context['user']['is_guest'])
$options['collapse_header'] = !empty($_COOKIE['upshrink']);

// Output any remaining HTML headers. (from mods, maybe?)
echo $context['html_headers'], '

<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript"><!-- // --><![CDATA[
var current_header = ', empty($options['collapse_header']) ? 'false' : 'true', ';

function shrinkHeader(mode)
{';

// Guests don't have theme options!!
if ($context['user']['is_guest'])
echo '
document.cookie = "upshrink=" + (mode ? 1 : 0);';
else
echo '
smf_setThemeOption("collapse_header", mode ? 1 : 0, null, "', $context['session_id'], '");';

echo '
document.getElementById("upshrink").src = smf_images_url + (mode ? "/upshrink2.gif" : "/upshrink.gif");

document.getElementById("upshrinkHeader").style.display = mode ? "none" : "";

current_header = mode;
}
// ]]></script>

I can't seem to locate it in the body... the place where I "think" it should be, but is not:

Code: [Select]
// Show the menu here, according to the menu sub template.
template_menu();
echo '
</div></div>';

//If the user is below the minimum required posts, then show the annoying message.
global $user_info;

if (($context['user']['is_logged']) && ($user_info['posts'] < $modSettings['MinReqPostCount']))
echo '
<div align="center"><table align="center" style="width: 650px; padding: 20px; text-align: left; vertical-align: middle; margin: 2ex 1ex 2ex 1ex; border: 2px dashed ', $modSettings['PostCountWarningBorderColor'],'; background-color: ', $modSettings['PostCountWarningBackgroundColor'],';">
<tr>
<td width="64">
<img style="vertical-align: middle;" src="'.$settings['images_url'].'/pcWarn.gif" alt="Attention!" />
</td>
<td style="color: ', $modSettings['PostCountWarningTextColor'],';">
<strong>', $modSettings['PostCountWarningMessageTitle'], '</strong><br />', $modSettings['PostCountWarningMessage'], '
</td>
</tr>
</table></div>
';

A little nudge in the right direction, maybe? What's the code I'd need to move around to where I want it to show?

Thanks again. :)
« Last Edit: December 09, 2006, 03:00:45 pm by buhaychat.com »

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 15104
    • View Profile
Re: 4. Global Headers and Footers
« Reply #44 on: December 09, 2006, 03:12:31 pm »
Its actually not in the index.template.php the code is located in Sources/Subs.php that's why it can work for every theme.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
3 Replies
3697 Views
Last post September 08, 2010, 03:01:41 am
by Molly
2 Replies
3479 Views
Last post January 30, 2011, 04:51:14 am
by Seo-luntan
9 Replies
6285 Views
Last post February 21, 2012, 07:52:32 am
by SMFHacks
6 Replies
3090 Views
Last post August 22, 2013, 01:39:57 pm
by inkys
0 Replies
1982 Views
Last post March 31, 2015, 10:33:08 pm
by SethAten

+- Recent Topics

Font question by SMFHacks
May 27, 2020, 08:15:26 am

Error message with latest SMF 2.1 Github build by Hatshepsut
May 25, 2020, 01:43:26 am

smfblog not working on 2.0.17 by tech9
May 20, 2020, 01:44:34 pm

Copyright removal by stbc
May 18, 2020, 01:27:57 am

Mod Verified User i can't square the image by Rock Lee
May 07, 2020, 07:56:10 pm

SMF4Mobile 2.0 released for SMF 2.0.x by SMFHacks
May 06, 2020, 12:13:14 pm

SMF Social Login Pro - Discontinued? by Nicole
May 02, 2020, 05:47:04 pm

Likes by SMFHacks
April 30, 2020, 09:50:35 pm

Upgrade Issue - by SMFHacks
April 28, 2020, 12:40:13 pm

Issues regarding Licenses and Domain by SMFHacks
April 28, 2020, 10:59:41 am

Powered by EzPortal