Facebook  Twitter 

SMFHacks.com

+-

SMFHacks.com

+- User Information

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?

+- Forum Stats

Members
Total Members: 4257
Latest: Alex998.
New This Month: 1
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 43295
Total Topics: 7523
Most Online Today: 77
Most Online Ever: 2482
(April 09, 2011, 07:02:45 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 66
Total: 66

Author Topic: Ad url and click tracking  (Read 7074 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline webdzr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Ad url and click tracking
« on: January 06, 2012, 09:49:14 am »
I was wondering if there was a way to change the ad urls that show when you hover over a link from the redirect link to
the accual url with rel "nofollow".

I was able to do this for both banner and text ads.

Example for the banner link:

$adDisplayData .= '<a href="' . $adRow['banner_url'] . '" rel="nofollow">


But the only problem Ive found is that the click tracking doesnt work.
The impresion count still does though.

My question is:  Is there a way to do this and still be able to track the # of clicks to an ad?

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16452
    • View Profile
Re: Ad url and click tracking
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2012, 10:08:21 am »
I can add nofollow to the links that should not cause an issue with click tracking since a user still clicks the links.


I can make that update but I would also check your click tracking settings in Ad Seller Pro
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline webdzr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Ad url and click tracking
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2012, 10:41:41 am »
Im sorry, I didnt mention that the click tracking works the way the links are.

Its only when i change them that it stops working.

Code: [Select]
$adDisplayData .= '<a href="' . $scripturl . '?action=adpro;sa=c&amp;id=' . $adRow['ID_AD'] . '">
change to

Code: [Select]
$adDisplayData .= '<a href="' . $adRow['banner_url'] . '" rel="nofollow">
Then tracking stops working....idk im missing something?

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16452
    • View Profile
Re: Ad url and click tracking
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2012, 10:46:16 am »
I don't see how that can cause it to stop working. It is still a link that can be clicked. If you click on the link does it redirect to the site it is supposed to go.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16452
    • View Profile
Re: Ad url and click tracking
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2012, 10:48:01 am »
You are changing the code the wrong way

Code: [Select]
$adDisplayData .= '<a href="' . $scripturl . '?action=adpro;sa=c&amp;id=' . $adRow['ID_AD'] . '">
change to

Code: [Select]
$adDisplayData .= '<a href="' . $scripturl . '?action=adpro;sa=c&amp;id=' . $adRow['ID_AD'] . '"  rel="nofollow">
In your first post you had the target going to  href="' . $adRow['banner_url'] . '"
Which has no tracking links.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline webdzr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Ad url and click tracking
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2012, 02:06:59 pm »
sorry...lol..... i wasnt very clear about what i was tryng to do....i wanted to make the links when hovered show the url of
the ad (like at the bottom of the browser) with rel"nofollow" not the redirect link....but to still have tracking ability

thats why i had the href="' . $adRow['banner_url'] . '" in there.....but i really dont see a way to pass the tracking link to it.

sorry for any confusion, its not really that important i was just thinking people would like to see their link url
instead of the redirect url and the nofollow tag would keep things good with googles terms about selling links

i really dont see a need for the nofollow tag to be used with the urls the way they are now

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16452
    • View Profile
Re: Ad url and click tracking
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2012, 02:11:05 pm »
You can use the title tag property instead that will show the text you want when hovered over but the statusbar text will still be the tracking links.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline webdzr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Ad url and click tracking
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2012, 02:21:02 pm »
Thats a good idea....think ill just do that cause i would rather have the tracking ability


Thank You,

BTW....I sold my first ad yesterday every thing worked perfect.....what an awesome mod this is for smf!

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16452
    • View Profile
Re: Ad url and click tracking
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2012, 02:25:29 pm »
Glad it works well. Yeah it really is pretty powerful once you can control your own ad inventory and just get people who visit your site the power to advertise on it when they want to.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others!

Like What I do? Support me at https://www.patreon.com/vbgamer45/

Offline webdzr

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Ad url and click tracking
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2012, 02:53:02 pm »
It just reminded me when you said "control your own ad inventory"

It would be really cool if the ad locations had ability for inventory count....

for example i used a copy of function ShowAdLocation and renamed it with the loop you made like we talked about before to show six banner ads down the side of the forum...(originally it was going to be five)

I have 3 ad packages....1month, 6 month & 1 year

to keep inventory at 6 ads i gave each package a count of 2....i can ajust as they sell but it would be great if the location
had an inventory count itself.......Im not complaining though!

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
4 Replies
6178 Views
Last post March 04, 2008, 02:29:16 am
by thehawk
4 Replies
5937 Views
Last post February 03, 2010, 09:53:36 am
by SMFHacks
0 Replies
3530 Views
Last post May 11, 2010, 01:24:35 pm
by aciage
7 Replies
9023 Views
Last post June 03, 2016, 08:02:08 pm
by SMFHacks
3 Replies
5187 Views
Last post January 12, 2017, 09:56:50 am
by SMFHacks

+- Recent Topics

Please Help! by SMFHacks
April 17, 2024, 08:04:55 am

Rate own images by fvlog19
April 11, 2024, 10:56:53 am

Tidy Child Boards on 2.1.4 by SMFHacks
April 04, 2024, 03:54:12 pm

Problems SMF 2.0.19 > 2.1.4 SMF Gallery Pro - Recents Images to overall header by Michel68
March 30, 2024, 12:41:08 pm

Can't DROP 'id_member'; check that column/key exists Datei: by SMFHacks
March 30, 2024, 11:58:20 am

No thumbnails on new uploads by Tonyvic
March 29, 2024, 06:26:18 am

Display the Contact Page for guests by SMFHacks
March 27, 2024, 10:55:43 am

is it possible to add support for odysee.com by fvlog19
March 21, 2024, 08:47:51 am

Request for admin notification by davejo
March 10, 2024, 01:31:59 am

I need help with torrent upload by Ineedsmfhelp
March 09, 2024, 10:01:13 pm

Powered by EzPortal