Facebook  Twitter 

SMFHacks.com

+- +-

SMFHacks.com

+- User Information

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?

+- Forum Stats

Members
Total Members: 12033
Latest: pablosanz
New This Month: 7
New This Week: 0
New Today: 0
Stats
Total Posts: 38405
Total Topics: 6768
Most Online Today: 197
Most Online Ever: 2482
(April 09, 2011, 07:02:45 pm)
Users Online
Members: 0
Guests: 47
Total: 47

Author Topic: placing ads in an include  (Read 484 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline drewactual

  • Ad Seller Pro Customer
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
placing ads in an include
« on: October 02, 2017, 05:23:00 pm »
lacking the inherit intelligence to search, I thought to ask in an original thread. 

I own a pro copy of ad seller, copyright removed.  I also run a heavily trafficked site with a substantially customized theme. 

down the right side i run ad's, and to my own store.  I use a free standing php file and use and 'include' to render it, called from index.template...

my question is fairly simple-

can i post script in the include file to manage the ads?  if so, will the call to SSI in the index.template negate the requirement to call it again?

explained differently- i want to use the ad seller pro script outside of the index.template file, and on a file that uses php include within the index.template to call it... will it work?

I'm heavily trafficked and i have neither a non-production site to work with, nor the luxury of breaking the site this time of year even for a few moments. 

thanks in advance! 

for a better idea, the site is cfb51.com 

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14249
    • View Profile
Re: placing ads in an include
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2017, 05:36:47 pm »
Depending on your version of AdSeller Pro you may also have an iframe intergration option.

Under Admin -> AdSeller Pro -> Locations
Click on the "get code" link

On that page will first have the PHP code which you can use if you include SSI.php in your php script.
Or you can just copy the iframe html code and user it on any site.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others! Also contests/promotions for verified sites.

Offline drewactual

  • Ad Seller Pro Customer
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: placing ads in an include
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2017, 05:41:01 pm »
disregard...

i realized the only thing i would break is the ad code and not the page, so i did it...

it works just fine.

thanks all the same!

Offline drewactual

  • Ad Seller Pro Customer
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: placing ads in an include
« Reply #3 on: October 02, 2017, 05:43:49 pm »
you posted while i was typing...

used a free standing php file where i hard coded the ads for the right side...
created a custom ad and pasted the code in that had coded and included php file at the bottom of it
added an ad, and approved it- boom...

now i can allow access for people to manage that area and not have to ftp or cpanel to change it myself... furthermore, i can use a random script to rotate the ads. 

me digs... many thanks!!

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14249
    • View Profile
Re: placing ads in an include
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2017, 06:42:46 pm »
Glad you have found a solution that works well!
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others! Also contests/promotions for verified sites.

Offline drewactual

  • Ad Seller Pro Customer
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: placing ads in an include
« Reply #5 on: October 03, 2017, 10:17:31 am »
using the custom ads stacked atop each other in the 'include' file works so long as i call it from inside SMF... I have SMF as a backbone of the site and two instances of WP operating on the site as well.  calling the file into wordpress breaks the SSL (removes the lock) due to a pixel sized image put into the script by AdSellerPro...

how do i fix this?

otherwise, this is a tremendously advantageous means to manage ad space. 

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14249
    • View Profile
Re: placing ads in an include
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2017, 10:24:50 am »
You would have to make sure your SMF forum is on SSL then that will work on the wordpress.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others! Also contests/promotions for verified sites.

Offline drewactual

  • Ad Seller Pro Customer
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
Re: placing ads in an include
« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2017, 10:28:34 am »
it is- but i cheated for simplicity's sake (and because being linked from sites i have no control over) to use the permanent redirect in htaccess...

i'll study up on how to change the URL of the forum in settings w/o scattering it.  that ONE line is the only thing not HTTPS throughout the entire site.

Offline SMFHacks

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14249
    • View Profile
Re: placing ads in an include
« Reply #8 on: October 03, 2017, 12:17:14 pm »
Check under Admin -> Ad Seller Pro settings and make sure all adseller pro urls start with https:// as well.
Get your Forum Ranked! at https://www.forumrankings.net - find out how your forum compares with others! Also contests/promotions for verified sites.

 

Related Topics

  Subject / Started by Replies Last post
0 Replies
2165 Views
Last post July 06, 2007, 10:01:02 am
by Osmonicar
2 Replies
1773 Views
Last post May 06, 2012, 12:30:36 pm
by ApplianceJunk
22 Replies
5450 Views
Last post January 31, 2013, 12:19:24 pm
by amwebby
7 Replies
3252 Views
Last post October 12, 2014, 05:09:29 am
by DenDen60
2 Replies
1172 Views
Last post February 13, 2017, 02:04:07 pm
by DenDen60

+- Recent Topics

upload 2 or more pictures at the same time by SMFHacks
December 12, 2017, 05:33:53 pm

gallery and switch to https for old or new images by SMFHacks
December 10, 2017, 08:08:42 pm

Bulk upload issue on Gallery Pro after upgrade to 7.2 by SMFHacks
December 10, 2017, 05:57:47 pm

Pretty URLs - SMF Gallery Lite by SMFHacks
December 09, 2017, 10:41:07 am

Adding a receipt number to Purchase Email by KKOG
December 08, 2017, 12:39:47 am

Tip: Image Proxy For SMF 1.1.x by SMFHacks
December 07, 2017, 10:43:41 am

[Mod]Recent Forum Topics Extended by monott001
December 07, 2017, 06:16:15 am

Random Image in TinyPortal Block Broken after SMF update by Boomslanger
December 04, 2017, 09:41:20 pm

Long time since upping my Gallery License by SMFHacks
December 04, 2017, 07:20:10 pm

SMF Classifieds by SMFHacks
December 04, 2017, 06:46:02 pm

Powered by EzPortal